Return to base by Karen Alderson

After a few more trips to Shipley wandering around the market square I begin to feel contained by the buildings, as the map is contained by its base. I revisit my initial photographs of the map.




I think about who has touched the attachments, what trace has been left. I examine them, draw, cut out stencils & print.






Looking at the images I take close up photographs & continue creating surfaces with ink, rusting powder, bleach, vinegar.





Lastly I collage pieces of maps, sprayed with ink & use a fine liner to draw the chord attached to one of the handles.

I am still not clear of my direction but feel it necessary to explore different ideas. A meeting with Anne Fox, video artist, helps me to conceptualise my ideas & make a commitment to chose one & develop it.

2 thoughts on “Return to base by Karen Alderson

Leave a Reply

